top of page


  • Writer's pictureRandy Sheffield

2020 NASCAR schedule changes

NASCAR Announces Big Changes to 2020 Cup Series Schedule

We are happy—and intrigued—to see NASCAR and its various supportive partners come together in a joint effort to make some improvements to the live sport of NASCAR—but will these changes prove successful?

On March 26th, NASCAR announced a radical change in the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series schedule.  While next year’s schedule will still consist of 36 points races, the traditional format will change.  This includes changes in race dates for most tracks, a new 2 Cup race weekend at Pocono, new locations for “Independence Day” and “Labor Day” race celebrations, a new slate of races for the “Playoffs”… culminating with championship weekend in Phoenix, AZ rather than Homestead, FL.   

Steve O’Donnell, NASCAR Executive VP and Chief Racing Development Officer had this to say about the changes: “The fans and the industry as a whole have been vocal about the desire for sweeping changes to the schedule, and the 2020 slate is a reflection of our efforts to execute against that feedback. These changes are the result of unprecedented consensus-building with our race tracks and broadcast partners; something we look to continue into 2021 and beyond.”

So what will NASCAR fans think of these changes?  Will the new race dates help fill more seats at specific events with dates more suited to respective climate and date?  Will these changes help expand the NASCAR fan outreach?  How will these changes be perceived by the entire NASCAR community? We look forward to seeing how the season shapes up.

2020 NASCAR Cup Series race date changes include:


Sunday, Feb. 9 Daytona- The Clash

Thursday, Feb. 13 Duel at Daytona

Sunday, Feb. 16 Daytona 500

Sunday, Feb. 23 Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Sunday, March 1 Auto Club Speedway

Sunday, March 8 ISM Raceway

Sunday, March 15 Atlanta Motor Speedway

Sunday, March 22 Homestead-Miami Speedway

Sunday, March 29 Texas Motor Speedway

Sunday, April 5 Bristol Motor Speedway

Sunday, April 19 Richmond Raceway

Sunday, April 26 Talladega Superspeedway

Sunday, May 3 Dover International Speedway

Saturday, May 9 Martinsville Speedway

Saturday, May 16 All-Star Race, Charlotte

Sunday, May 24 Charlotte Motor Speedway

Sunday, May 31 Kansas Speedway

Sunday, June 7 Michigan International Speedway

Sunday, June 14 Sonoma Raceway

Sunday, June 21 Chicagoland Speedway

Saturday, June 27 Pocono Raceway (2 Cup race weekend)

Sunday June 28 Pocono Raceway

Sunday July 5 Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Saturday July 11 Kentucky Speedway

Sunday, July 19 New Hampshire Motor Speedway

Sunday, Aug. 9 Michigan International Speedway

Sunday, Aug. 16 Watkins Glen International

Sunday, Aug. 23 Dover International Speedway

Saturday, Aug. 29 Daytona International Speedway


Sunday, Sept. 6 Darlington Raceway

Saturday, Sept. 12 Richmond Raceway

Saturday, Sept. 19 Bristol Motor Speedway

Sunday, Sept. 27 Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Sunday, Oct. 4 Talladega Superspeedway

Sunday, Oct. 11 Charlotte Motor Speedway

Sunday, Oct. 18 Kansas Speedway

Sunday, Oct. 25 Texas Motor Speedway

Sunday, Nov. 1 Martinsville Speedway

Sunday, Nov. 8 ISM Raceway

74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Do you have an idea for an article or would like to contribute an article of your own?

Everyone has a difference perspective and maybe even a bold prediction. We want to hear from you.

bottom of page